BYRON SCOTT

On D’Angelo Russell:

“You know I think when some of these guys come in the league, they think they’re entitled and that’s how I felt he thought when he first got with us that he almost tried to act like he was a veteran and I tried to make sure he knew he wasn’t.  You have to earn your stripes, so yeah there were times I was a little tough on him just to bring him down to Earth, let him know that this is not an easy task being in the NBA, that’s the easy part – getting there – the hardest part is to stay there and get better and better and better. So, yeah, I had some tough love for the young man, but just like I told him, when I stop talking to you that’ll be a problem. I had a lot of love for him, he obviously went through some tough times, but I think he’ll be a good player.”

Leave a Reply

